For our Parents

As a parent, I completely understand the frustration when you get the reply, “Nothing,” to the question, “What did you do in school today?” Although much learning and activity takes place between 8:00am-3:00pm, sometimes our students are tired, or not to talkative in the afternoon. My own frustration ensues around the dining room table when I ask my 2nd grader the same question. I know, since she is across the hall from me at Windsor during the day, that she did more than “nothing.”

One of my dear teacher mentors used to remind me, “If you’re not getting the answer you are looking for, you are not asking the right question.” I stumbled upon this blog, and wanted to share you, my families. Hopefully these questions will get you the answers you are seeking.

http://www.simplesimonandco.com/2014/08/25-ways-ask-kids-school-today-without-asking-school-today.html

PS. My favorite is the space alien question.

Leave a Reply

